Quick answer
In Yukon, learners take separate sign and knowledge tests for a Class 7 learner's licence, on road signs and driving rules, based on the Yukon Driver's Basic Handbook. The Yukon pages we checked don't state the number of questions, the pass mark, a time limit or the retest rule.
The Class 7 learner's tests at a glance
| Licence | Class 7 learner's licence |
|---|---|
| Tests | Separate sign and knowledge tests, on road signs and driving rules |
| Questions and pass mark | Not stated on the Yukon pages we checked to be confirmed |
| Time limit and retests | Not stated on the Yukon pages we checked |
How the app practises the Yukon test
Yukon · practice test in the app
Class 7 learner's tests
- Rules of the road20 questions · 16 to pass to be confirmed
- Road signs20 questions · 16 to pass to be confirmed
The app's Yukon practice test has the same 2 parts, answered one after another. Each part is scored on its own against its pass mark, and you see a result for each part as well as your total. Figures marked to be confirmed are the app's practice settings, not official figures. The app will follow the official format once a government source confirms it. Every result is a practice result only, never an official one.
What the Yukon question bank covers
The Yukon bank has 200 practice questions (Rules of the road: 100; Road signs: 100), written for Yukon only from the Yukon Driver's Basic Handbook. Every question is in English and French, and every answer explains why it is right, why each wrong choice is wrong, and where the rule comes from in the handbook.
Topics covered (17)
- Regulatory signs
- Warning signs
- Construction and temporary signs
- Information and guide signs
- School, playground and pedestrian signs
- Traffic and pedestrian signals
- Pavement markings
- Your learner's licence and graduated licensing
- Right-of-way
- School buses
- Emergency and roadside vehicles
- Railway crossings
- Distracted and fatigued driving
- Skids, emergencies and breakdowns
- Collisions and reporting
- Wildlife, rural and gravel roads
- Northern driving (ice roads, ferries, long distances)
How to study for it
Read the handbook first
The test is based on the Yukon Driver's Basic Handbook. Read the chapters on signs, rules of the road and your licence before you drill questions.
Learn signs by shape and colour
Shape and colour tell you the type of sign before you can read it: an eight-sided red sign means stop, a diamond is a warning. Then learn each exact meaning.
Practise each part on its own
Each part has its own pass mark, so a good total isn't enough. Make sure you are solid on every part.
Fix your mistakes, not just your score
For each question you miss, read why your choice was wrong. The app brings it back in your plan so it sticks.
Book when you pass consistently
Take full practice tests and book the real one when you pass them again and again, not once.
Questions about the Yukon test
How many questions are on the Yukon learner's tests?
The Yukon pages we checked don't say. Non-official sites describe 20 questions per test with at most 4 wrong; the app's practice test uses that format and marks it as to be confirmed.
What do the tests cover?
Road signs and driving rules, from the Yukon Driver's Basic Handbook.
Are the app's questions the ones on the Yukon test?
No. They are original practice questions, written for Yukon from the Yukon Driver's Basic Handbook. They teach the rules the test checks, but they are not the test, and the app is not connected to any government.
Can I practise in French?
Yes. Every question, explanation and source note is in English and French, and you can switch language at any time.
Practise for Yukon with Learners Test Canada
Learners Test Canada is an independent study app. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Government of Canada or any provincial or territorial government or licensing authority.
Android app. It is not on Google Play yet; the link will appear here when it is.